RSS Feed

The US Open

As the summer winds down and football season riles up, the world of tennis has one last grand slam event for us, The US Open. The tournament took off last monday but apparently no one wanted to play. There has been tons of player injuries and sickness. There has got to be something in the air up there in New York, oh yeah there is, pollution. Novak Djokovic the well known man to beat, who often plays in a fashionable dragon shirt. Some ppl have Nike and some have…dragons?? Anyways, he had a shoulder injury or as he called it soreness. Well yeah dragon boy that happens when you swing that racket that hard that much and only lose two matches. If you lost more you wouldn’t be so sore. Not that I want him to lose, all due respect to his winning streak. The streak does seem to have caused him to withdraw in the second set against the Scot Andy Murray in the Cincinnati Finals, the week before the open. After retiring dragon boy tweeted that he just needed to rest his arm and it would be fine in the up-coming major, he seemed to be right. Virus Williams oops Venus, had some kind of “virus” and had not played since Wimbledon. Recently she always seems to be fighting something. But in her defense, she tried, she played the first round and then withdrew. She blamed the same virus and that she had recently been diagnosed with some kind of syndrome I can’t pronounce, it’s one of those immune system diseases that attacks your own cells instead of the outside invaders. It is confused. Rafa is always worried about  those knees of his, but they seem to be better, the issue this year is…. his leg cramps? I think losing wimbledon to Djokovic is the real issue, his leg just needs an icy-hot its his ego that needs a doctor. The “Sweed” Robin Soderling also had some kinda virus, that caused him to withdraw early in the tournament. He is breathing to much of that New York air, I suppose. Besides the injuries the open has been fairly exciting and is now moving into the quaterfinals for the mens and the semi’s for the girls. Most of the top seeded and loudest girls including the most annoying Maria Sharapova lost early in the tournament. Women’s Tennis is never consistent and always a little fuzzy. I don’t think that anyone really knows who number one is. But the number one and two seeds did make it all the way to the quaterfinals, Caroline Wozniacki (1) and Vera something russian (2). In men’s there is normally always a clear number one and currently that is Novak Djokovic, or dragon boy, he is the lead to take another grand slam. Despite the derogatory sound of dragon boy I really do like Djokovic, he is my favorite. I think he deserves all his hype, if only he had one the French open this year he could of had his own calendar grand slam. Not far behind him are the usual Federer and Nadal. Then one of my favorites Andy Murray and then Ferrer. Yes, Ferrer is different then Federer, I know it confusing. My prediction is another Djokovic and Nadal final but I do hope for the underdog John Isner.  The finals are on sunday, the semis on saturday but there is football to be watched then, the rest of this week has some good matches. Let’s hope for an upset.

About Lindsey Adams

Sports have always been a passion of mine. When I was little it was playing them in kids leagues, until one day I finally realized I sucked. When I got older I went through a phase that I call fan-ization, defined as the process of becoming a well-informed sports fan. I became fan-inized by spending to many Saturday afternoons in the living room with my father. And He, as I see it, is a world renowned sports buff. He knows everything there is to know about all sports-history, rules, players, stats, coaches, and techniques. Obviously a little bit of his passion rubbed of on me and hopefully a little trivia. So incase you didn't know Saturdays in the fall are full of college football so inevitably the NCAA became my first love. I learned players, teams, rules, conferences, and started reading up on news. Now I am a self-proclaimed college football junkie. I have now extended my viewing and knowledge to all sports. Now, my days of spending all afternoon in the living room with my dad have passed because I have had to get up off that couch and go to college. (Theoretically to learn something I guess.) This year I am a sophomore at Oklahoma State University and recently official sports media major. I am originally from Amarillo, Texas and I was born in the Dallas area. So my heart lies with the Dallas cowboys, the Texas Rangers, the (dissolving) Big 12 and the NBA champions the Dallas mavericks, but my fan-ship truly lies with OSU Cowboys. I believe my sports knowledge is unique and being a girl it is odd, you will not find another girl as informed or as passionate about sports as I am.

One response »

  1. This made me laugh- particularly the dragon bit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

